Best laser for a newbie

ralfeez

I am new to dinghy sailing, but I have been certified for keelboats up through Bareboat Cert. What my question to the group is is what would be the best laser to start with? Would an old boat be okay as long as it was retrofit with all of the new goodies or should I save my money and buy a new boat? I really want to race it. So, should I find a boat that is retrofit for racing? Any suggestions?
Thanks, Ralph

a reasonably new boat ( say 15 series onwards) will get you going and most boats newer than this have been upgraded

Few sailors will sell their boats WITH the new rigging! You will most likely settle for a "standard" rigged Laser, and upgrade it with the new goodies yourself if you so desire!

If you're new to dinghy sailing and you've never sailed Lasers before, I would recommend sailing a Laser first before you buy even an old, beat-up hull. I have many keelboat sailor friends who thought they would love it but found they did not particularly enjoy it. (One hot-shot J-24 racer just stepped from the dock onto the side deck of a Laser... and went straight down into the water :) So, this means that, in my opinion, February/March (in the USA, where you are) is not the right time to buy a Laser for the first time.

In the spring, I'm sure that if you contacted your local Laser Fleet, they would be more than happy to arrange one or more test-sails for you. (You can find all the fleet contact info on the drLaser website.)