Just Curious........

Esteroali

How many of you sailors out there...
learned to sail as an adult?? I get the impression most of you out there are male and have been sailing for years. I feel like I will be collecting Social Security before I am good enough to do a race....If my body can hold up. The wind tonight was perfect and I had a perfect sail...we are lucky to go year round;) ;)

I learned to sail when I started graduate school at age 23. I was lucky and the first 6 years of sailing were with the Univ. of Wisconson Hoofers Sailing Club on a student schedule, so I was able to get quite a bit of quality time on boats from 12 foot Tech Dinghies to 33 foot keelboats. Even with that, I'm still jealous of people who grew up sailing and built up all the muscle memory as kids that I'm only beginning to learn.

Cheers,

Geoff Sobering

Hello Esteroali,
I started sailing with my father when I was about 8 or 9, we raced for about 5 or 6 years, I started crewing for him in races (11' Penguin dingy's). I was the smallest and lightest of the brothers (not any more). I just started sailing again this July and had my first regatta in 30 years or so in September. I had a ball.... my only goal was not to finish last. I made my goal!!! 5th out of 6. I can't wait till the next one in October. The best thing I think is to go ahead and get your feet wet and have a go in a local club regatta. Good luck and full sails to you!
Fishing Mickey