Weighted Centerboard?

c14_Scott

Happy New Year to everyone.

I'm a do-it-yourself kind of person and have already installed several improvements to my 14.2.

Has anyone considered, or ever heard of, a weighted centerboard for this boat? I'm new to sailing but wondered to myself if any stability could be gained with some extra weight as far south as possible. Since I mostly sail alone, I have less human weight to throw around for ballast (but seem to be adding to that mass all the time these days!).

Looking forward to the return of warm days to continue my sailing education here in central VA...

Centerboard

Scott,
I've had the same thought.
But a D.I.Y. guy could build a light weight board with extra length/draft? The increased draft would add stability without significant added weight.
The longer board would not retract all the way up but that could be an added benefit for downwind stability.
You could then interchange the class legal board for racing.
RRE

second thought

On 2nd thought...Maybe the extra drag of a longer board would be just as much a penalty
as the extra weight of a lead plug in the end of the board???
RRE

The dynamics of the sail vs the keel (centerboard) are more complex that length/weight vs sail.
To paraphrase Sailing for Dummies, think of the sail and the keel as airfoils; the air over the back side of the sail goes faster than on the front side, the resulting difference is pressure creates lift, a force pushing the boat sideways and forward.