Removing metal drain assembly.

LQT420

Does anyone know how to remove the metal drain assembly? Mine is all worn and corroded. I'm trying to prep an old hull for new gelcoat or Awlgrip (haven't decided yet) in the meantime I'm trying to do as much prepwork as possible. I want to replace it with the new plastic drain plug. Thanks for your help.

- Leon

The "old" method used to be to tape the hull around the fitting and hacksaw off the housing. A much better "new" method is to use a Dremel tool or other small hand grinder and from the inside of the cockpit grind two notches in the retaining nut so seperates into two pieces and it comes free.

Yeah, well not everyone has a dremel tool, including myself, and I'm a shop teacher. Why not just set the bottom side of the bailer against something solid and wack the retaining nut with a cold chisel?

Al,
I also am a shop teacher and was planning on using my Sawzall to remove the bailer from my old sunfish until I purchased the replacement. Old one was too far gone and was far to heavy to consider repairing. But I have the old one and will now take the saw to it and see what happens.
Craig

FIberglass doesn't have much resistance to "wacking" compared to the nut. I have seen hulls cracked trying that method of bailer removal.
And I will repeat make sure you protect the hull when sawing off the bailer from the outside. Again fiberglass soen't take well to saw teeth and it's very easy to do a number on the hull before the bailer comes off.
PS: A cheapo "dremel type" tool can be had for under $20 at places like Harbor Freight and Northern Tool.

Thanks for all your replies guys, but I was asking about the hull drain on the deck to the right of the splashrail. Do you think the methods above would work for it as well?

Drill. Start small and work up. Regarding the bailer. I have an old hull I have already cut into three pieces to dispose of. Good one to practice on. My new boat has the plastic bailer.

Craig